Who Is Bhushan Patil? Congress’ Mumbai North LS Candidate Against Union Minister Piyush Goyal

In the Lok Sabha elections, the Congress on Tuesday announced Bhushan Patil’s candidacy from the Mumbai North constituency against Union Minister and BJP leader Piyush Goyal.
The grand old party announced a list of four candidates, including Patil, Raj Babbar from Gurgaon, Haryana, Anand Sharma from Kangra, Himachal Pradesh, and Satpal Raizada from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh.


The vice president of the Congress’ Mumbai chapter is Bhushan Patil, who is running for the general election from the Mumbai North seat. He had run as a candidate from the Borivali seat in the 2009 Maharashtra Lok Sabha election.

Over the course of his 25 years with the grand old party, Patil has held the position of treasurer for its Mumbai chapter.
In addition, he is a member of the BEST Committee and the Central Board of Film Certification Advisory Board Panel.


The surprise announcement of Union Minister Piyush Goyal’s candidacy for the general elections came from the Bharatiya Janata Party’s second list of 72 candidates.

As the BJP’s nominee for Mumbai North, Goyal will have his first electoral test. He has been in charge of important ministries for the past ten years and is one of the senior ministers in the Narendra Modi administration.

The 59-year-old is currently the Union Minister of Textiles, Food and Public Distribution, Consumer Affairs, and Commerce and Industry.
Goyal, who is originally from Mumbai, will return to his home state to run in the Lok Sabha elections. He will take Gopal Shetty’s place as the candidate from the Mumbai North seat.


The constituency that encompasses Dahisar, Magathane, Borivali, Kandivali, Malad, and Goregoan is known as Mumbai North. Gopal Shetty of the BJP currently holds this seat as an MP.
Congress selected actor Urmila Matondkar to challenge then-incumbent Shetty in 2019. 71% of voters cast ballots in it. With almost 71% of the vote, Shetty easily defeated Matondkar, who received only 24% of the vote.


Mumbai has six Lok Sabha seats out of the 48 in Maharashtra. These seats are Mumbai North, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North West, Mumbai Nirth Central, Mumbai South, and Mumbai South Central in that order.
The fifth of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections will take place on May 20, with polls open for all Mumbai constituencies.
On June 4, 2024, the votes will be collected


Related Articles